lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Lesbian Divorce – She Took The Wine

In children, civil unions, Crying, Current events, dating, Divorce, family, gay, gay marriage, grief, homosexuality, law enforcement, Lesbian, lgbt, Love, Marriage, news, parenting, portland oregon, promises, single, women on April 11, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Update: I made it through the store today, only crying once when I walked past her favorite bread.

This is progress.

But when I got home and started unloading groceries, I noticed the new bottle of wine I bought, is missing.

I’m pretty sure she took it with her on the way out the door on Tuesday.

I wouldn’t mention this, but that bottle of wine was actually pretty significant to me. See, I don’t like alcohol in the house. I grew up with a drunk, I know she did too. For me that meant I never wanted to have alcohol in my home. I was pretty upfront about it when we met, and she was cool with. But started making comments about how I controlled her having an ice cold one in her own home.

So lately I’d been thinking, ya know I don’t drink but once in a bit. As far as I know, neither does she. So, why not? That’s when I bought the wine.

When she asked me to buy her a beer at the store the other day, I did. I know she occasionally likes one, so why not? I thought it would be a compromise I knew she’d appreciate.

But that wine, was for us.

I intended to share it with her. It kinda meant something pretty special. To show her I was bending, and growing as our relationship grew.

But now she is gone and so is the wine.

Shit.

Leave a Reply

