lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Lesbian Divorce – Emotional Spinach

In attorneys, Break-up, children, christian, civil unions, court, Crying, Current events, dating, Divorce, domestic, family, gay, gay marriage, God, grief, homosexuality, Law, law enforcement, Lesbian, lgbt, Love, Marriage, news, Pain, parenting, Politics, portland oregon, relationships, religion, single, sleep, women on May 6, 2011 at 12:15 am

It’s been a month and a day, today.

I was singing in the shower today, a song by Jewel. I came to one line “Hearts are broken every day” and it dawned on me. . . exactly how I was feeling one month and one day ago, someone else is feeling right now.

I remember that feeling of constant pain, wondering if it would ever stop hurting ( If you’re reading this, and you’re wondering the same. . yes, it does).

Right now, I’m determined to write my own story. The new page may have faint impressions of the story written on the page before, but as I keep turning the pages, those impressions fade away. I’m realizing just how amazing life can be, without her pain and anger. I don’t miss how she used to hurt me way more than I miss those brief moments she would actually reach out to me.

It’s been a month and one day.

The divorce is still going on, and there are moments I can’t really talk about yet. But let’s just say that I’m confident.

Today, one month and one day later, I am a little bit stronger. Even if I can’t consume cans of spinach like Popeye and grow muscles that show a physical strength, I just know I am getting stronger everyday.

Just knowing this, is my emotional spinach.

  1. I love that analogy as much as I loved reading this. Here’s to ever-increasing strength in the days to come!

Leave a Reply

