lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Lesbian Divorce – My Three Sons

In Bill Gaither, Blog, cancer, children, christian, Christmas 2011, Current events, dating, Divorce, equality, Facebook, gay, God, grief, healing, health, Ira Stanphill, Lesbian, lgbt, Love, military, Musician, parenting, portland oregon, relationships, TRAP Syndrome, wedding, women, Writing on December 27, 2011 at 12:56 am

Well, I made it through Christmas.

I just want to leave this blog post at that, but my heart’s a little heavy tonight. I need to write it out.

My eldest son and daughter weren’t here this year. I missed them both tremendously. It was the first Christmas since my divorce, and without the both of those children (well, legally adults). In all honesty, I didn’t think about the ex, save for one whole minute. And only when I was trying to remember if she was here or at work.

Last year though, I distinctly recall my son being here and showing me this “lump” on the back of his head. It wouldn’t be until he got back to his military base, that we’d find out it was cancer. I was sad when I thought about how he wouldn’t be home this year, and it marks a year that my son has had to face the diagnosis, numerous surgeries and changes .. all on his own. I’m tearing up now just thinking about it again.

11 1/2 years ago, I lost a child. I named him Isaac. He was conjoined to his identical twin “G”. Because of the complications due to T.R.A.P. Syndrome, Isaac never would have survived. I found out at 5 months along that I was having twins, and that one was not alive, all at the same moment. I was devastated and carried life and death every single day for the rest of my pregnancy, to term. It was …. a difficult, difficult time. I had no support through most of it. In part because I didn’t tell people for awhile, and in part because I was just so devastated. The few people I allowed to come close that I wanted support from, I still didn’t want support from. If you’ve ever grieved, you know exactly what I’m saying.

G didn’t come through the pregnancy unscathed. He was in NICU after birth, and had a host of complications. No two survivors of TRAP are the same, so knowing the long term complications had to just play out as he’s grown.

I recently was told he’s dealing with a condition called IGF 1 deficiency. It’s not a common condition, and most test studies are done on a group of people in another country that lack IGF 1 all together. G has a milder form, though still uncommon. The only way I can describe it, is how it was to me. Testosterone is produced normally and goes between the brain and liver, normally. From the liver to his body, there’s a receptor broken.

The options given, are to try a test study injection of IGF 1 twice a day (cancer is a risk) or just wait and see how he develops as he grows, not knowing the long term outcomes.

G is small for our family, with his younger brother already much taller than him. He’s started noticing he’s not growing as quickly, and it’s been on his mind a lot.

Recently one of his classmates passed. Wheelchair bound, and very small for her age, the teacher explained to the class she wasn’t growing and that was part of the reason she passed. I can’t imagine the things G had running through his mind at that moment, but a few days ago we were walking through the store and he blurted out “Mom, if she died because she couldn’t grow, am I going to die too?”

My. Heart. Sank.

I told him that her body was much different than his, and Drs are working to find out what to do, but we’re on it. He seemed relieved, I hope reassured.

These three boys of mine, all hold a place in my heart (as do all my children). My courageous son overseas who’s battling, my son who is not present (but very present) and my son who’s going to grow into his own, no matter if his body catches up with his big personality or not.

I wish I had all the answers as to why things turn as they do, but I know if I did I’ll miss out on the best parts of discovering joy along the way. It’s like discovering a patch of blue sky on a very rainy day.

Ira Stanphill is my favorite composer of hymns. I chose the following to be sung at my sons funeral, in part because Ira wrote it and because it fit so well. I couldn’t find a great video of the song on YouTube, so enjoy the comb overs and towers of hair reaching the heavens.

We’ll Talk It Over In The Bye And Bye – Ira Stanphill

Tho’ shadows deepen, and my heart bleeds,
I will not question the way He leads;
This side of Heaven we know in part,
I will not question a broken heart.

Chorus:
We’ll talk it over in the bye and bye
We’ll talk it over, my Lord and I.
I’ll ask the reasons – He’ll tell me why,
When we talk it over in the bye and bye.

I’ll trust His leading, He’ll never fail,
Thro’ darkest tunnels or misty vales.
Obey his bidding and faithful be,
Tho’ only one step ahead I see.

Chorus:
We’ll talk it over in the bye and bye
We’ll talk it over, my Lord and I.
I’ll ask the reasons – He’ll tell me why,
When we talk it over in the bye and bye.

I’ll hide my heartache behind a smile
And wait for reasons ’til after while.
And tho’ He try me, I know I’ll find
That all my burdens are silver lined.

Chorus:
We’ll talk it over in the bye and bye
We’ll talk it over, my Lord and I.
I’ll ask the reasons – He’ll tell me why,
When we talk it over in the bye and bye.

About the Gospel Song We Will Talk It Over

The lyrics and music to the Gospel song, “We’ll Talk It Over” is by Ira Stanphill.

  1. my heart goes out to you and your family… i cant even imagine being in your shoes and experiencing what all you are and have gone through. God bless and I wish you and your family the best..

    • And I couldn’t have been through a lot of this past year without your friendship Tony. You’ve been my inspiration, motivation and friend. I’m so blessed to have your sunshine on rainy days.

Leave a Reply

