lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Lesbian Divorce – Rain, Rain Don’t Go Away *waves good-bye to 2011*

In 2011, blog, Blue Like Jazz, children, christian, Christmas 2011, communication, Crying, Current events, dating, desert, Divorce, Edgefield McMenamins, family, Flowers, Friend, gardening, gay, God, grief, I Can Do Bad All By Myself, Laughing stars, lesbian, LGBTQ, Love, marriage, Mary J Blige, Natasha Bedingfield, New Years Eve, New York, news, NYE, Oregon, Pain, parenting, people, Portland Oregon, Rain, Relationships, single, The Little Prince, Uncategorized, vows, wedding, women, writing on December 31, 2011 at 11:36 am

Dang what a year it’s been.

I don’t use today to mark my choice to make some big changes with a resolution list, I believe change should happen now. I know that people tend to look at it as some sort of day to mark as the big change day, but I want to change things right where I am. And I made a lot of changes in 2011.

The real year mark comes this April when I made the change to end my marriage and get out of a bad situation. Had I stayed, well.. it scares me to think where I would be today.

I’m not sure if she was home for NYE, though she probably wasn’t. I do recall thinking to myself that I wanted to not be sitting around for the holiday, again. In all my adult years, I’ve been out only twice for NYE. I had mistaking thought it was only once, but I recalled a really bad date I had years ago. I’m not a party girl and honestly would rather snuggle in with someone I love watching movies and eating pizza. I like going out for great food and all of that stuff, but standing around in a huge crowd of strangers after paying out some insane entry fee to a NYE party, just isn’t my thing. I’d rather spend that money on a new pair of heels or something equally wonderful. But mostly, it just goes to bills.

I picked up my daughter yesterday, and I was so happy to see her. She came bearing pressies for the family. We decided to have our Christmas together, post Christmas. As we piled out of the van (yes van. There is a blog I am working on, it’s an amazing thing) and stepped up to the door, we found a package left at the door. It was from my son overseas. It was his pressies for his brothers. There I stood feeling as though I had both of older children arrive at the door at the same time to celebrate with us. It was amazing timing, and so medicinal for my soul. We opened pressies, had chinese food and smiled. It was a wonderful feeling to have the sense of all my children together in the same room for the holidays.

I am not sure where some of you are, that read my blog. Which by the way, thank you for reading. If you are in a bad place, a bad relationship or a crappy situation… don’t wait to make that change. Courage is not something that comes first, it’s something that arrives during. That first step belongs to you. Don’t worry about what the possibilities are, worry about the reality of the situation of where you are now. If the memories of what used to be keep you tethered to what you have now, let me say that while things change and we grow over time, so does love. Sometimes I imagine love is rain . It’s why Spring is so pretty. I can’t imagine a Spring here in NW Oregon without it. I’m pretty sure you can figure out what would happen if there was no rain. Love is a lot like that. Without it, there is no growth. Trying to get something to grow by just demanding it, doesn’t work. Heck, if it did that money tree I keep trying to plant would have been old growth by now, but love doesn’t work that way. It can’t be forced, it can’t be demanded. But, I’ve learned that love can be given freely to myself, from myself. That means I need to be good to myself and walk away from those places where it has ceased to rain, and I am just stuck in a barren desert.

Last year I was in that desert, today I enjoy what the rain breathes.

  1. “Courage is not something that comes first, it’s something that arrives during.” – what an eloquent reminder of a hard truth! Hello from a long-time reader, now delurking…wishing you a wonderful new year.

  2. I would like to no longer be in the desert.

Leave a Reply

