lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Lesbian Life – Update On Son

In Blog, cancer, Cancer Sucks, Choose Joy, christian, Crying, Current events, friendship, gay, God, grief, healing, health, Lesbian, lgbt, Life, Love, Oregon, Pain, parenting, people, Portland, portland oregon, Questions, Writing on January 29, 2012 at 11:58 pm

My son is coming home in April. It’s just not soon enough.

I miss that kid more than I can begin to even tell you. My first born child, I had him when I was 20.

Just a child myself in a lot of ways, but having had lived a life full of challenges already, nothing prepared me for the love that would fill me the moment I first held him in my arms.

I received a message on Facebook a week ago, in which he reluctantly told me he’d experienced a blackout and a seizure. He doesn’t want to worry me, I know. But I can’t help but feel helpless in knowing he’s so far away right now, and there’s nothing I can do. Since he’s stationed overseas right now, it’s not as if I can jump in the car and demand he come home. Even if I could do just that, that baby that taught me what it’s like to be a Mom, is now 22. So, here I sit trusting the United States Marine Corps is doing their part to give my son the things he needs, and helping him find his way as these new developments take place. It’s a tough thing to balance out wanting to rush in like a mighty wind and take charge of my sons health care, while respecting his adulthood at the same time.

They (the Drs) don’t know if this new symptom is a part of the cancer, so I’m
remaining hopeful it was a fluke. I do know that my son, however, is a positive young man who keeps finding the bright side to all the things happening. I wish in this case I could be as encouraged, but I struggle to see anything positive as to why a 22 year old should even have to be met with such things.

In my own life, I’m finding joy in the midst of the fog that lies across the valleys. Every day is met without guarantees of how it will unfold, and every day I get up knowing this. I have responsibilities, and sometimes things don’t go according to the schedule I have set out for the day. Children get sick, snow days happen, appointments get cancelled. But I do try to roll with the punches and not get stressed. I learned a long time ago to pick and choose the things I’d allow to get me all worked up when things didn’t go according to plan. There’s bigger things, like my sons cancer, to give my time to.

In rolling with the punches and changes that life brings, finding joy is possible. There are times it’s the last thing we could imagine, there are times that grief or sorrow can make even the most beautiful of things seem invisible to our hearts. But when we’re ready, light will flood into the room and if we’re lucky,

our heart.

Leave a Reply

