lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Life – Thank You To The Zac Brown Band

In Uncategorized on December 20, 2013 at 1:05 am

Zac Brown Band,

Thank you. Today you extended an act of generosity that is much bigger than I think you can begin to realize. You made a difference. Here… Let me share what my son wrote on his Facebook this evening.

I have no words right now… I requested a small scholarship last year to request a new guitar from the Wounded Warrior Battalion to try and get a better quality guitar to play on for when I was finally back home, and after it being over a year I had sort of given up on it. Today, about 5 minutes before I Was leaving the house, my Dad knocked on the door and said I had a visitor, so I stepped into the hallway to see that I was actually looking at a Sgt I knew at the bn there. He was holding not 1, but 2 guitars, both he said was from the Zac Brown Band. One is an Ltd XTone 1 piece electric/acoustic that had been used at a concert and signed by the band members, and the other a brand new unused standard Gibson Les Paul electric guitar. The band members also want to try and meet me when they come out this way next. I still don’t even know what to say, but the fact that they received the essay I had to submit with the request for the charity organization I thought I was submitting to turned out to be a huge plan that had to have taken so many logistics and planning that I couldn’t even imagine. Thank you so much to those involved in the process and for making what I thought a dead hope become something more special than I thought.”

My son used to play the trumpet until the surgery left so much nerve damage that he can no longer play without pain. For such a musically gifted young man, I can not begin to imagine how that has changed his life. Music has always been such a big part of his life. But today you did something that will live on in his heart and the hearts of the people who love him. Thank you for that. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Someday I hope I can give you a hug and say those words to your face, but until then just know that tonight there is a young man who is so beyond moved and people who are giving you a high five for being just so damn kind.

Sincerely, A Mom

Image

  1. This is just….beautiful! High fives all around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

