lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Life – Gabriel and His MRI Results

In Uncategorized on April 8, 2014 at 5:30 pm

I got the call tonight. I will spare you the round about details and lack of planning (or even that the cardiologist yawned during the conversation), and get right to the point.

The pericardium sac is thick and stuck to places on Gabriels heart. What does this mean? Well, as it was explained to me, the sac gets thick and starts to adhere to the heart, much like a spider web. That is not supposed to happen, and this is what is happening to Gabriel. I am calling his regular Cardiologist tomorrow to set up a game plan, and speak to the Rheumatologist to discuss medications. There is one, Colchicine, that might help. If it doesn’t, and the sac gets even thicker and adheres more to the heart, then they will have to operate and remove the sac from his heart.

The cardiologist that I spoke to tonight, is the one who did the MRI and I’m not a huge fan. Up until recently, he has questioned every time I have taken Gabriel in, as to whether or not Gabriel is even having problems. I am hoping the MRI has now convinced him that Gabriel is indeed not well, and now we need to get super proactive to figure out what to do from this point.

So… here were a few of my questions for him tonight, followed by his answers:

Will the medication unstick the portion of the heart that is already adhered? He doesn’t think so.
Will it adhere more? Possibly.
Can the sac completely adhere to the heart and constrict it? Yes.
What will they be doing to monitor his progress? Just wait to see if the medication helps and prevent another relapse.
Will they know if it’s adhering to the heart more, based on symptoms? No.
So then why won’t you be doing a test to keep a check on things? (No definite answer given).
Why did his ANA levels test positive? (This can indicate Lupus) Not sure, it can mean a lot of different disorders so we need to talk to the Rheumatologist.
Have you talked to the Rheumatologist? No.

Can anyone else see my frustration? Tomorrow, I will be speaking to his Cardiologist and hopefully get a game plan going. I also plan on making some calls to other children’s hospitals to see if they have any experience in this condition. I’ve got to make sure I am not leaving any stones unturned, in trying to find answers to help my son.

On a better note, I feel much more grounded today after having a mental day yesterday. I am taking everything one step at a time, and choosing to address the things I can do something about, and let go of the shit I can’t. I am in a much better frame of mine today, to do just that. You would think with this news, I would be in a much worse place than I was yesterday, but I can’t help but feel that at least we have answers, even if we don’t know why it’s happening to him. At least we know what the result is, and can address it sooner than later. That perspective makes me feel better, and that is what I am trying to hold to.

(Gabriel while waiting for his MRI yesterday)

Image

  1. I dont comment much because I read your posts in a feed but I want to let you know from one Mother to another, my thoughts are with you. You are doing all you can and Gabriel can see that. I will be thinking of you and sending healing vibes from NJ to you! Remember you can only change what is in your control.((((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

