lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Life – Gabriel’s Treatment Plan

In Uncategorized on April 16, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I finally got a call today. As you know, the cardiologist brought the rheumatologist onboard, so that he could manage Gabriel’s medications to help with the PPS (Postpericardiotonomy Sydrome) flares. Since PPS is really the same as Percarditis, only caused by surgery, the rheumatologist manages those medications with more knowledge than the cardiologist.

The rheumatologist told me that they have decided to prescribe the Colchicine, and give it a try, starting tomorrow. He is sitting in conference with all of the cardiologists tomorrow to discuss what happens if the medication doesn’t work, but today Gabriel’s cardiologist and the rheumatologist agreed that the very next step will be surgery to remove the pericardium, if the Colchicine doesn’t work. I realize I haven’t explained much about the Colchicine, but I think I will explain that in the next entry. It’s an interesting drug that recently had a study published in the NEJM.

The rheumatologist also explained that the initial ANA testing that came back, was screened further, and tested completely negative for Lupus, so that is a real positive. His vitamin D was extremely low (an 8), and his liver tests show a slight increase in his numbers. He has gained 30 pounds since his surgery, all due to the prednisone, no doubt.

I am so ready for my son to be healthy again. I desperately want this medication to work. I just don’t want him to have to face surgery again. Yet I know that if that is what it takes to have Gabriel feel better again, then that is what they have to do. I just want Gabriel to feel like himself, and not be ruled by all of the pains he feels when he has a flare.

So tomorrow is the day for the new drug, and here is hoping it is the key to help Gabriel feel good again. It’s one of those times you wish good thoughts really could magically touch a situation and be the pixie dust to transform everything it comes in contact with, to rainbows and all things beautiful and right in the world.

Thankfully, Gabriel is feeling good currently. At least the sound of the conversation currently taking place while I type this out, sounds as normal between siblings as it possibly can be. Gabriel is currently advising his brother Ben that maybe a getting a girlfriend would make him a nicer person.

Ben: “Why wouldn’t girls like me? I am hot.”

Gabriel: *fits of laughter

 

(Gabriel having his IV removed after the MRI scan last week)

Image

Leave a Reply

