lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Life – Gabriel & Day One

In Uncategorized on April 17, 2014 at 11:13 am

Gabriel took his first colchicine pill this morning. It’s a little purple pill. It’s weird to think how much hinges on that little thing producing huge results. It reminds me of something Gabriel shouted out once, while trying to wrestle with his older (and much bigger) brother, Ben. Keep in mind this was before I knew he had a heart defect. I probably would have offered him a coloring book on the history of non aggressive play, with some soft and non threatening crayolas, had I known before they tried to do all of that play wrestling that brothers do. But I remember it so clearly when Gabriel was standing up and trying to get Ben into a mock head lock. Both boys were laughing so hard, and through the laughter Gabriel shouted out ” I may be small, but I am much bigger than my size!”. Those words were so big to say, as Gabriel has always been much smaller than his older brother despite how close in age they are.  I am hoping that is the case with this  little purple pill as well. I am hoping it is much bigger than its size, because it has a heck of job ahead. I am pretty sure Ben let Gabriel win that day, and I hope that little pill helps Gabriel win again.

When the Rheumatologist first told me about the colchicine, he told me that he had used it in only two other children with pericarditis, and without good results. He went on the state that he had just recently read an article in the New England Journal of Medicine, that says colchicine had showed promising results from preventing/reducing recurrence when used with Prednisone. What they are doing, is keeping Gabriel on the prednisone, and starting colchicine at the same time. He will taper off the prednisone over the course of weeks, until he is on colchicine only. Then we wait. Typically Gabriel starts to get sick within 2 1/2 weeks after stopping prednisone. If he can maintain on the colchicine, then that little pill is doing great big things. If not, then.. well, surgery.

When the Rheumatologist told me about the drug, he gave me a choice between that or methotrexate. The pros of colchicine are that it works much quicker, and Gabriel really needs to start getting better sooner than later. I was concerned that he hadn’t seen promising results though, and I needed more answers. Someone forwarded the report to me, and I was able to find some more after I Googled the study. I had questions about the study, so I emailed one of the investigating physicians in Italy, and asked a heap of questions. I was really worried he might not email me back, but within the day, he answered.

We exchanged emails back and forth for a few days, and he was able to answer my concerns. I started asking as many questions to cover all the basis I could. I wanted to know how many were teenagers, how many had underlying health issues, and so on. Things I felt I needed to know to help me make the most educated choice for Gabriel and might give him the best chance at feeling better, and avoiding surgery. The investigating physician stated that colchicine is worthy of adding to his prednisone treatment, so this seemed to be looking like this might be the medication worthy of a try. Even though the Rheumatologist hadn’t had promising results in the past, we all know Gabriel doesn’t seem to respond typically to a lot of things, so maybe he is the one patient that will turn this around. That is my hope, anyways.

So here is to little, but big things, today.

 

(Gabriel and I, 4-2014. I have no clue why he is squinting. When I asked him why he was, he couldn’t remember either)

Image

 

  1. OK…now I am catching up on my reading. And now it is time to start cheering on the new little purple pill. Come on, ‘little purple pill’! Do your thing and let Gabriel get on with being ‘bigger than my size’! lol..
    Thanks for the update. Happy Easter-Spring to one and all.

Leave a Reply

