lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Life – Tomorrow Is When?

In Uncategorized on May 15, 2014 at 9:08 pm

A couple of days ago, Gabriel saw the Rheumatologist. As you know, he has been tapering the prednisone every Monday while taking the colchicine.

The plan is to continue the taper, with him going off the prednisone completely by June 11th. He will stay on the colchicine after he finishes the prednisone, with hopes that it will prevent another flare up of the Postpericardiotonomy, and there will be no fluid around his heart. He will stay on the colchicine with no definite ending date, until we see how it works. Typically he gets sick within 3 weeks of ending the prednisone, but we are hopeful the colchicine will prevent that from happening.

June 11th.

June 11th.

This day is set in my mind, and as it approaches I am cautiously hopeful yet preparing my spirit for what might lie ahead.

It’s hard to believe that it’s almost been a year since the heart defect was found. No one tells you how quickly time pushes past when you have a child who is chronically ill. I was thinking back to September when the Cardiologist suggested the surgery to remove the sac of the heart. He (the cardiologist) said to me “But that is way, way out there. We have medications to try first, and that is about a year out”. Yet here we are almost year later from his initial diagnosis, and it doesn’t feel like a year has passed by.

Maybe it is because I don’t even think in terms of making future plans anymore. Every thing is about the here, and now. Maybe that is why times seems to pass so quickly. When you make plans for events that are scheduled ahead, time seems to move so slowly. Now it is all about just making it through the day, and hopefully to the next one, without any events taking place that might indicate the medication isn’t working. In a way it’s been a good change, because I am learning to live in the moment. I’ve always been someone who spends a day scheduling and planning the next day. Sometimes I get so busy scheduling the next day, that I at the end of the day I realize I have spent my entire day preparing for the next. Now, I am learning to live right now. I can’t always do the things I want to do, I am not a rich woman in any sense of the means, but I am learning to appreciate the now. Don’t get me wrong, now that I am working with the kids with online school and the entire burden of daily responsibilities fall on me, I am staying busy no matter what. Just I am learning to embrace the moments where I can. If that is stopping and giving myself 60 seconds to pull my hair back and apply a dab of blush, then I do it. Buying tickets for a concert I really want to see that is months out? Not happening. Katy Perry is coming in September, and trust me, I wanted to go so bad. But not knowing where things are going to be in September, I couldn’t justify spending the money when times are already tough, and not knowing if I would have been able to go or not. But oh man, I would have loved to get a floor ticket and had one night I could just let go.

But here and now, things are okay. Gabriel is handling the taper well (even though that has never been the issue)and he is fine in this moment, and that is what it is all about. Wouldn’t trade that for all the Katy Perry tickets in the world.


 

  1. You’re a gifted writer and a more gifted live-r of life.

    You’re privilege to know, an inspiring woman.

    ~ Lydia

Leave a Reply

