lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Life – One Year In 6 Hours

In Uncategorized on August 8, 2014 at 11:00 am

It is a few minutes after midnight.

As I write this, I can look over and see Gabriel fast asleep. I have to wake him up in an hour to take his colchicine, but for right now, he is peacefully asleep.

In 6 hours, it will mark a year since we arrived at the hospital for Gabriel to have his heart operated on. Maybe it would seem further away in time had Gabriel not gotten sick and been battling with his health a majority of the year, but there is no denying our lives are much more different than they were a year ago.

In addition to everything going on with Gabriel, this past year my son Christopher came home from Wounded Warriors, and I had to start teaching the boys at home because the school district simply wouldn’t follow the IEPs. Which by the way, is a real adjustment. I have learned more about math than I ever knew, and wanted to know.

There is no denying that this year has been full of changes. Some good, some challenging and some down right painful. But for all the challenges and changes, I am thankful tonight. I am thankful that a bit ago I got a text from Christopher, that I can see Gabriel sleeping peacefully, and that the colchicine is working right now. Those are some pretty big things in my life, and there is no words that I can use to explain just how good it all feels in the midst of the challenges . I can just tell you that tonight.. right now.. life feels good. It’s not quite there yet, and perhaps life will always be trying to reach for the next step, but for right now it is good.

(Morning of August 8th, 2013. Gabriel was given a bear to keep him company right before surgery. He asked his little brother to keep it for him while he was in surgery. D took the bear and sat him in this chair, overlooking the gardens at the hospital, while we sat in the waiting room waiting for word on Gabriel during surgery)
D and Bear

(My view pulling into PDX to pick up son Chris. Coming home to stay)
1045229_573828629335782_635845381_n

Leave a Reply

