lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Life – Jesus Take The Wheel (but let me press the gas pedal)

In Uncategorized on October 14, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Gabriel had another seizure the weekend before last. It was one of those grand mal seizures, and scared the crap out of me. This makes three now.

The second seizure he had was something called a “partial”, and it was after that the Dr ordered an EEG. The day before he had this last one he had the EEG done at the hospital he was transferred to, so the ER Dr. was able to speak to the neurologist, who spoke to someone who then spoke to the neurologist, when then spoke to he ER Dr., who then spoke to me. Yeah, I know.. confusing, isn’t it?

The initial impression they have from the EEG is the same one the neurologist spoke to me about when we met her for the first time, last week. Gabriel has Benign Rolandic Epilepsy. He may outgrow it, but the onset of it has come a bit later than usual, so it all really remains to be seen. He will stay on medications for 2 years, and they will do another EEG to see what that looks like. If it’s clear, then he will go off the medication.

From what I have read, the children don’t typically need medication, but because he has had so many in such a short amount of time, they put him on it.

So now we have answers.. more answers. It’s been a bit overwhelming at times, and I have gone back to spending time with tears. I have learned to be a heart parent this past year, and now I need to learn how to see a grand mal seizure without freaking out, but all in all I remain greatly blessed. I do wish that my Gabriel could just have a time where life wasn’t throwing something new out at him, and he could focus more on the things teens worry about instead of worrying about having something happen.

Anyways, I kinda feel like I am telling God to take the wheel, but keeping my foot on the gas pedal trying to control the speed of things where I want them to be. I know I can only do what I can, but it sure would be nice to feel I have some control in this situation where I feel helpless at times.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

