lesbianspaghetti

My Big Fat Life – Gabriel Update

In Uncategorized on January 14, 2015 at 4:33 am

I didn’t want to talk about this until I had the appointment, but I finally got Gabriel in to see a pulmonologist.

Since we are now one episode away from the doctors wanting to remove the pericardium sac of his heart, I wanted to make sure that they looked at all things before moving forward.

A friend posted something on Facebook, and the in the comments one of the women mentioned something about pleurisy. It reminded me that one time, early on, one of the doctors said his symptoms were like those of pleurisy. I didn’t think much of it, because I didn’t know much about it, plus it was early on in and I didn’t know a lot about a lot.

The woman provided a link, and I clicked. You know all those symptoms the doctors have told me that aren’t textbook, and baffle them? Well they are textbook, but for pleurisy. This motivated me enough to get a referral to the pulmonologist and get their opinion on things. Since I haven’t been able to shake the feeling they are missing something, this sort  of confirmed my concerns there might be other things going on. At least some very suspect symptoms that are worth looking into.

He agrees that while Gabriel does have the symptoms for PPS (posterpericardiotonomy syndrome), he also seems to have some symptoms of pleurisy. He feels that Gabriel definitely needs a cat scan of his lungs when he gets sick again, to look at things more closely before they even consider moving forward with the pericardium removal.

Hopefully Gabriel won’t have another flare, and perhaps this is all just precaution. At the same time, I have been preparing myself for the fact that he may very well have to have it done, though I pray he won’t. At least we are one step closer to hopefully finding some answers to the symptoms that are baffling his doctors, and stressing his body out.

 

 

 

  1. A mother’s instincts are more often right, than they are wrong. Good for you for listening to the message that just ‘happened’ to find you. I don’t know what the treatment for pleurisy might be, but I’d hope it would be a lot less invasive than removing the pericardium sac.
    And again, your feeling that they are missing something is a good one to listen to.
    Please let us know what happens next on Gabriel’s journey. Blessings to you all!

  2. WOW WOW WOW!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

