My Big Fat Life – Maskless People for a Godless Nation

I have no idea when or where the whole mask debate became a debate of faith, but here we are. People in churches demanding to “not forsake the gathering” (which is taken out of context when used that way), demanding that kids go maskless in the schools and how everyone deserves the right to go to Walmart without a mask as it is their “God-given” right to do so. When did this become a thing?

If you look at their arguments for a moment it is so easy to see the holes in the basic logic of it all. Let me break this down:

1.) “I’m not afraid of the Delta when I have the Alpha and Omega” (actual meme I have seen posted to my newsfeed), and “I’m not scared of getting sick because I have God”:

Okay, so if I go to your house will I find that you have a medicine cabinet with mediations or holistic healing medicinal products? Will I find ointments, lotions or even organic foods because you are watching what you put into your body? Will I find a carpet for your child, or that you use your seatbelts? Will I find that you have been to the Dr or had surgery, ever? Will I find that you have exercise programs that you partake of? Will I find turn your heater on in the winter to avoid getting hypothermia? Will I find central air so you avoid dying of heat stroke? Will I find antibacterial hand soaps or hand sanitizer anywhere that you use? Will I find anything that you use to improve and preserve your health in anyways whatsoever, or to protect the life of your child?

How a mask is even remotely a different situation that is part of some big brother scheme to control you. Tell me how none of those things listed above don’t challenge that faith in God you claim you lean upon to avoid death and illness. Tell me how you trust God so much while you buckle you and your kids up as you drive out of your driveway while looking both ways.

Masks are not challenging your faith. God does not say the presence of faith is the absence of common sense.

2.) Masks keep your droplets to yourself.

Just as you use hand sanitizer, Kleenex when you sneeze or wash your hands (basic sanitary things) a mask is just a new part of that system. Medical professionals wear them for hours on end to keep their droplets to themselves when they perform medical procedures or aren’t feeling well. There is no danger in wearing one. In fact it’s one of the most healthy things you can do for yourself right now. Are they annoying? Yeah. Nothing about this pandemic is fun, but it’s the best new pice we can introduce to a daily routine until we can get a hold on this. Hand sanitizer wasn’t always a thing. Seat belts weren’t always a thing. Most medications weren’t even a thing. Yet most those who are fighting about masks use all of those things without batting an eye or claiming this is some faith based control.

If this was an outbreak of ebola would you feel the same? Would you run around and expose yourself and children willfully to ebola? Smallpox? Would you carry the same arguments or would you feel a bit more hesitant to force your kids into crowded schools and yourselves into busy spaces? What makes COVID so much more of a political thing than a real threat? So many people have already died so we know it does kill. Those who survive often have long-term illness and so we already know that’s a thing too. Why is COVID political and yet we don’t politicize other things that we know have a mortality rate as well? Don’t make this about ‘survivability” rate because that only places value on those that are likely to survive while removing value of those who died and isn’t value of life something the church preaches?

Wear a mask.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑